Dear Boy’s debut album Forever Sometimes out today on Last Gang Records

Watch “Swan Dives” Music Video 
Fall Tour Dates Announced
photo by Jonathan Weiner

“The Los Angeles indie stalwarts finally release their fantastic first full-length.” – SPIN

“You don’t have to come from across the great, big pond to have a bit of British edge to your band. Dear Boy may hail from Los Angeles, but their alternative sound carries with it distinct notes of post-Britpop stylings.” – Consequence of Sound

“LA’s charmingly monikered Dear Boy brilliantly recall those ‘Sound Of Young Scotland’ bands like Orange Juice and Aztec Camera – with their shimmering guitars, sparkling melodies and widescreen post-punk atmospherics. From the first notes of the skillfully flanged guitar, it’s like a time machine back to when mellifluous melodies seemed the only reasonable riposte to the bleak, mean Glasgow streets.” – Blackbook

“The four real life friends that make up Dear Boy (vocalist Ben Grey, guitarist Austin Hayman, drummer Keith Cooper, and bassist Lucy Lawrence) have made something that is deeply personal, while celebrating their city and challenging the direction of modern guitar music.” – Ones To Watch
“Dear Boy has positioned themselves as a band worth indulging your youthfulabandon with.” – NYLON

Stream: Forever Sometimes on All Streaming Services 

Watch: “Swan Dives” official video at YouTube

Watch: “Forever Sometimes” official video at YouTube

Dear Boy are excited for today’s release of Forever Sometimes, out now via Last Gang (order). Across the anticipated album’s 13 tracks, the band grapples with life after death, love after life, life after love, the paradox of closeness, the complexity of what it means to leave something or someone behind, when do you say goodbye? These are some of the ideas that Dear Boy has been exploring since their first days as a band…And in that way, Forever Sometimes is as close to a concept album as a non-concept album gets. SPIN Magazine says, “Songs like the title track, “Say When,” “Wet Clothes,” and “(On My) Mind” are equal parts warm, romantic, sexy, dramatic, sacred, and profane.

The release showcases the band’s bittersweet songs inspired by late ’70s / early ’80s post-punk and early ’90s britpop, seen through their unique modern lens. Produced by the band and mixed by Tony Hoffer (Air, Phoenix, M83), the record also features contributions from Day Wave, Hazel English, Rogue Wave, AFI & Ian Hultquist of Passion Pit.  Along with the album’s release, Dear Boy is also sharing a new video for “Swan Dives” which was was made by the band’s Ben Grey and Paisley Grey. On the song Ben Grey says, “‘Swan Dives’ is a song about falling in love, falling out of love and how these moments in life seem to never be in sync. Sometimes the most courageous and loving thing a person can do is to accept what is.”

Forever Sometimes is meant to feel like a full life lived. From the non-denominational “Evensong” to “Unbecoming” to “Marrying For Love” to “Die” to “Heaven Moves.” The album is a full circle emotional journey and a microcosm of the human experience. The first and last song on the album share the same ethereal voice which we employed to be a call to the listener… asking you to live this life again.

“A lot of this record is about our shared time on Earth and the idea that for so many of us, love is truly the hereafter we’re looking for,” says Grey. He adds, “The night sky isn’t any one person’s territory. There are answers up there for everybody.”

“Since we were producing it ourselves, we wanted to infuse as much of our shared personal history into the details as we could,” Grey adds. “The underground train you hear before ‘Swan Dives‘ is the Northern Line, which we would ride every day when we first started Dear Boy in London. The acoustic at the end of ‘Heaven Moves’ is from the very first demo recorded in Keith’s bedroom. ‘Unbecoming’  features a quote from the 40’s that goes; ‘The people of the state of California expect us to do our best…’ Something my Dad would say to me all of the time when I was a kid… There isn’t a moment on this album that doesn’t feature something important, unique or special to us. It’s the most personal record any of us could have imagined making.”

Dear Boy is a band of best friends from Los Angeles, California. Ben Grey (vocals / guitar), Austin Hayman (guitar)Keith Cooper (drums) and Lucy Lawrence (bass / vocals). With three EP’s and a bouquet of singles, Dear Boy has earned an immense and loyal following, selling out headline shows from the Troubadour to The Teragram and touring with the likes of The Psychedelic Furs, James, Pete Yorn, Day Wave, Palace, Rogue Wave, Sunflower Bean, DMA’s, The Airborne Toxic Event & Peter Murphy. Recent festival appearances include Corona Capital 2019 (Mexico City), Estéreo Picnic 2022 (Bogotá, Colombia), Pa’l Norte 2022 (Monterrey, Mexico) and recording a live set on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic.

Dear Boy Tour Dates
10.28 – Los Angeles, CA @ The El Rey
11.03 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere Zone 1 
Forever Sometimes Track List
1. Evensong
2. (On My) Mind
3. Say When
4. Wet Clothes
5. Unbecoming
6. Swan Dives
7. Your Brother’s Room
8. Forever Sometimes
9. Marrying For Love
10. The Nominee
11. Overjoy
12. Die
13. Heaven Moves

For more information please contact:

Giovanna Melchiorre

Vice President, Media Relations